Proteus (2005)

I composed this electroacoustic composition in 2005 to accompany a video by a friend. I generated most of the sound material by altering the scanning frequency of sample wavetables using the energies of simulated systems of particles in harmonic potentials. (I describe the genesis of this approach here.) I think this approach to synthesis works well for generating dynamic spatialized sound textures, but I definitely need to remaster this track at some point. I remember a lot of composition was necessary to shape the material just how I liked it after I generated the sounds. Also, I added the reverse piano notes because my teacher Curtis Roads once told me that he thought such sounds were remarkably beautiful.

Leave a Reply

