50 Particles in a Three-dimensional Harmonic Potential: An Experiment in 5 Movements, now with psytrance!

I received the greatest piece of fan mail I have ever received a few days ago:

Hello! I have been a big fan of 50 Particles in a Three-Dimensional Harmonic Potential for almost 10 years now. … Fast forward to now, and here is why I’m emailing you. Tomorrow night I am DJing a gig in Melbourne, Australia, and I’d really like to open my set with 50 Particles, or at least a portion of it. … I will be playing to a crowd of about 200 people on a very powerful, very hi fidelity sound system. … The rest of my set will be a kind of dance music called psytrance, but I really want to open my set with something that people will remember. … Is there anywhere that a CD quality version of 50 Particles already exists on the net that you know of?

Since I never imagined how 50 Particles could ever fit as an introduction for a DJ at a rave, I just had to satisfy that request!

And startled I am by the awesome results! He timed my Coulomb explosion perfectly!
DJ Sunkid spinning at the Big Red Bus (if you arrive on a bike you get in free!) March 2011:
http://sunkid.ca/sunkid_-_Live_at_Big_Red_Bus_March_2011.mp3

This really makes me want to get out my huge Fuel pants, wallet chain, silver sneakers, and umpire shirt! PLUR.

One thought on “50 Particles in a Three-dimensional Harmonic Potential: An Experiment in 5 Movements, now with psytrance!

  1. Wow, he did contextualize it well. It seems a lot of electronic musicians could do well by sampling unique experimental pieces. Is this the next Radiohead/ Paul Lansky phenomenon?

    Like

Leave a Reply

