ACM Workshop on Music Information Retrieval with User-Centered and Multimodal Strategies

After a very long series of flights from Copenhagen, I am happy to be in Nara at the 2012 ACM Workshop on Music Information Retrieval with User-Centered and Multimodal Strategies. Today I present two of my papers, hopefully as awake as I can.

The first is “An Analysis of the GTZAN Music Genre Dataset“. My one-line summary is: This dataset, used in more than 20% of work on music genre recognition, has the following problems: replicas, mislabelings, and distortions. The index I have created of the contents are here. (If you have information leading to the identification of those missing, please mail me! :)

The second paper is “Two Systems for Automatic Music Genre Recognition: What Are They Really Recognizing?” My one-line summary is: High accuracy genre recognition systems behave strangely enough to warrant revisiting the idea that any of them can recognize genre. To reproduce my experiments, I make available all my code here.

Leave a Reply

