The new scientific revolution: Reproducibility at last – The Washington Post

The pessimist:

“Everything in science is based on publishing a peer-reviewed paper in a high-ranking journal. Absolutely everything,” [Ivan Oransky, founder of the blog Retraction Watch] said. “You want to get a grant, you want to get promoted, you want to get tenure. That’s how you do it. That’s the currency of the realm.”

and then just a few paragraphs later
The optimist:

“The whole point of science, the way we know something, is not that I trust Isaac Newton because I think he was a great guy. The whole point is that I can do it myself,” said Brian Nosek, the founder of a start-up in Charlottesville, Va., called the Center for Open Science. “Show me the data, show me the process, show me the method, and then if I want to, I can reproduce it.”

via The new scientific revolution: Reproducibility at last – The Washington Post.

Leave a Reply

